Hope Is Real

I absolutely love To Write Love on Her Arms. This organisation has gained a lot more awareness over the past year or so, but I’ve been a fan ever since I can remember. I ain’t no groupie.

I can’t even begin to describe how much respect I have for the man who started TWLOHA. I only can dream of having as much compassion and love for broken people as Jamie Tworkowski did when he started TWLOHA in 2006, and still does today. If you go to twloha.com, there’s a link up at the top that says, “vision”. Read it. Read the story, too. You will be blown away. I’ve read both of these many times, and I still get the chills. It is absolutely mind blowing to know that there really are people in this messed up, beaten down, broken world that actually care about someone other than themselves. Like, I don’t know what else to say other than, “it’s amazing”. Because it is.

TWLOHA stays near and dear to my heart for a couple different reasons. Some that I like to keep secret, and others that I want to tell the world because everyone should know about TWLOHA. Everyone should know that they are unconditionally loved by God. Everyone should know that there is hope, even when it doesn’t feel like it. Everyone should know that they are not alone.

Yeah, I’m sure you’re sitting there saying, “You have no idea what my story is, don’t tell me I’m not alone. Don’t act like you know me. Cause you don’t.” I know, I’ve said it all, too. Most days it doesn’t feel like everything will be okay. Most days I want to give up and call it quits. But what I’m slowly starting to realise is, there are people that care about me, and there are people that love me. And when I don’t want to believe those things, God loves me, and God cares about me. I’m definitely not the most amazing Christian, I’m not a perfect little church girl, but the one thing I know for sure and will never ever forget, is that there is a God in Heaven who loves me so much. More than I can ever humanly comprehend.

I want everyone to know they are loved. Even by a complete stranger like me. If you’re reading this and feel like you have nowhere to go and no one to turn to, know one thing: I love you. Seriously, I do.

Honestly, I think I would have a different outlook on my life at the moment if someone told me all the things I’ve just written here. I wish I could’ve had the chance to meet someone like Jamie, but being a Jamie to someone else would be so much more fulfilling. Sure, it’s scary talking to people about your problems. It makes me so uncomfortable. It’s terrifying, but absolutely necessary.

I want everyone I meet to feel wanted because I know how awful feeling unwanted is. It’s just horrid. But I would do anything to make sure someone never gets to the low I’ve been to. I know there are people out there that have it way worse off than I do, but I’ve been hurt pretty bad on more than one occasion and want to do anything I can to not let anyone be anything but happy.

So go to twloha.com, read their vision and story, be moved by it. It has definitely moved me. More than once, too! I love everything this organisation stands for and does for people. I only hope one day I can impact a broken life even for a moment. A smile, a hug, a shoulder to cry on. Anything. But nothing I can do even comes close to the amazing love and help that TWLOHA could give someone. These people seriously rock. They save lives.

Leave a Reply

