Six Ways of Listening to the Rain

One
In life we are given many opportunities to grow,
but nothing more beautiful is grown than after the rain.

Two
Laying with regret in my eyes,
Rain washes down my sullen face.
It pours like wax from a melting candle.

Three
Pitter patter.
Pitter patter, goes the rain.

Four
A light rain sprinkles lilies in a field.
A heavy rain cascades onto redwoods in a forest.
A desert rain replenishes hope lost to persistent sunshine.

Five
Birds fly from their perches and come together to sing a song.
They do not sing about the rain.

Six
I pull the covers over my head.
The rain forces them down to my feet.
My hidden smiled arches across a soggy sky.

Leave a Reply

