Impact

My mermaid hair swirls around
While my mind remains idle.
I’m turning the key, but
Nothing.

My imagination is in drive.
I’m going full throttle on the gas pedal.
Scenery swims past my windows, but
Nothing.

Why can’t I feel it?
I reach into the cavity of my chest, but
Nothing.

My ears pick up the reverberating of friendship
And happiness
And adoration
While I’m racking my brain trying to remember
What my voice sounds like.

But I catch a glimpse of those caramel apple eyes,
And everything hits me at once.

Leave a Reply

