Happy Birthday

I saw your face in a crowd

yesterday. We caught gazes

and our glance gave way to a feeling I still

wasn’t used to. I hadn’t seen you in weeks prior and 

the awkwardness that washed 

over our pale complexions 

remained fixed in your 

green eyes. My hand began to rise up with excitement 

when I realised it wasn’t actually 

you. I fell for the devil’s mean 

trick for the hundredth 

time this year. He then 

reminded me today is your 

birthday, and I forgot to buy 

a present for when we met again 

tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

