As if my secrets were yours to tell

I met you two summers ago

while I was searching for

angels’ reflections in puddles.

And when Lucifer didn’t show

his saintly grin,

I turned and saw you.

 

I tried to love someone

who couldn’t fly, while

wishing wings upon us both.

 

We tried jumping from unimaginable

heights- you persuaded me

to be reckless.

 

You used to beg for storms, but

ran and hid when the sky

turned anything but crimson.

 

And it wasn’t till after

I realised this that I understood

demons could smile, too.

One thought on “As if my secrets were yours to tell

Leave a Reply

