Quarantine

after Robert D. Farber’s “Sorry for the Interruption”

I am a pink moon floating
over a purple sea. Some nights its waves nearly reach my dark craters, orange mist fills crevices- some nights
I am joined by starbursts shooting
all around me. This is not one of
those nights and I am

alone. I am just a rock in the hazy vastness, a consolation to weary humans
below. They don’t know it is always night to me; most of them will greet
their loves with a kiss in the morning,
illuminated by the fire of my own.
She is the most beautiful mass of hydrogen
and helium I’ve ever seen. I only wish there weren’t so many days till our paths cross once more. The wait is agony, but I anticipate our meeting a spectacle.

Leave a Reply

