Just some girl’s opinion on how a new combination of numbers doesn’t get to tell you how to live your life

I’m not one for New Year’s 

resolutions. If I wanted to change

who I am or how I act, I wouldn’t need

the flip of a calendar to tell me so. 

I’ll always be me. 

I can’t change that. 

And I think that’s what people 

don’t understand about a countdown. 

From ten! to ONEEEE! is still the same

amount of seconds it’ll always

be. You can’t change that. 

Midnight will always be midnight

just like the moon will set each morning

bringing a guaranteed sun.

You might not always see it,

but the sun doesn’t care-

it just shines.

And as for me, 

I’m just gonna live.

2 thoughts on “Just some girl’s opinion on how a new combination of numbers doesn’t get to tell you how to live your life

Leave a Reply

