A thought that popped in my head out of nowhere (I’ve found that those are the ones worth writing about)

The sad thing about the human race

is that we think we need to choose

between having a backbone

and having a heart. 

In a world where kindness is bought reluctantly

in a Starbucks line

and rules are screams in students’ quivering faces,

I don’t understand the necessity for such a decision.  

My queries are simple.  

Why not both? 

Why should I have to choose respect over sympathy?

Compassion over dominance? 

God, do I wish more than anything, that I had all the answers. 

3 thoughts on “A thought that popped in my head out of nowhere (I’ve found that those are the ones worth writing about)

  1. I wish you did too kid, but half the fun is in the unknown. As far as the choice made goes I feel like you hit a chord. We all have to make those decisions however the hardest ones are both in my opinion. To take a stand for the greater good is in fact both, which leads down the road of what is right/needed and what is ego. Thought provoking and great writing keep it up!

Leave a Reply

