What it’s like to be a lost boy

I got up and stood out in the sunshine,
but the shadow on the pavement
was not mine. She is lost.
I’ve been searching for her, but I
don’t think she recognizes my voice
anymore. So many people think they need
someone else to save them,
to recover their shards once shattered. I thought
I needed you to save me. But you flew away
long ago, and nothing has felt the same, except for
how ardently I admire her independence.
She floats with the swiftness of 1000
freed butterflies-
maybe she doesn’t want finding. Maybe she
doesn’t need saving. My shadow, she probably laughs
at all the leaps and bounds I’ve gone to
get her back, when it was really you who were
standing behind me all along.

Leave a Reply

